somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Scrubbed Clean

9 Comments

It was a little too long since the kitchen floor was scrubbed.  In the meantime, I had been wiping up the little stains that kept appearing, trying to keep it looking “clean enough”.

Finally, the big day…I scrubbed that baby CLEAN.  Being very happy with myself, feeling the clean smoothness under my feet, and smelling lemon in the air, I started a pot of coffee.

Not sure how it happened, but my cup of coffee ended up on the floor.  Did I just do that??? I started wiping it up…

Isn’t that the way it works with our sinful nature?  We confess and repent of our sins, and feel so clean.  We even start feeling that maybe the sin has been overcome.  Then just like the coffee spilling onto the clean floor, our sin spills over our clean soul…and it becomes smudged again.  And this happens over and over again.

Never lose heart!  Never give up!  Never, repeat, NEVER think that Jesus will abandon you.  Jesus is waiting for you to confess again and again, and turn your sin over to Him.  He is always there with you, to scrub your heart and soul clean, with His love and grace.  Enjoy, and bask in His unlimited mercy and love!

1John 1:8-10    If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.


9 thoughts on “Scrubbed Clean

  1. Pingback: Be Humble Enough To Repent

  2. I LOVE this one Berni…..this is SOOOOOOOOOO me….man, its like I go to reconciliation…talk to the priest about the same “big 3” I usually talk to him about…walk out of there just KNOWING its not going to happen again….and dang it if it doesn’t…sometimes ON THE WAY HOME from reconcilliation ROLF….WELL maybe not quite that fast…and yup good old satan sticks his nose in my business again and tells me how disappointed God must be….and how tired he gets of forgiving me…and I wallow in my own self absorbed pity and find all kinds of excuses not to go back to confess “too quickly” and I allow it to fester…..dang satan is good at what he does….but then….I read stuff like this…or I hear something at mass or whatever and it reminds me just how much God WANTS us to come back and admit our failings……I’m sure I’ve told you this story before but I got my realization of this a few months ago when I was thinkiing of a time I was disciplining my son…..and I told him, there is NOTHING you can ever do that will make me stop loving you, all you have to do is come to me and tell me what’s bothering you and we’ll work on it together…and the MOMENT I said that, I heard God, in my heart, say…yup Jimmy…that’s it…..there’s NOTHING you can do….nor a limit to the times you do it….that will make me stop loving you………and my eyes were opened. That’s not saying He says its ok to go out and do the same things over and over…but the fact that He KNOWS I’m trying and when I fall, I can come to Him and He will ALWAYS pick me up…….THAT is what I came to realize…. I STILL probably dont’ go to reconcilliation as much as I should but not because I’m afraid to, but because my life is so hectic….bad excuse I know…..I have to work on that…giving Him MORE of my “time”……thanks Berni…as always…..YOU ROCK!! Love you guys!!

    Like

  3. Wow, Jimmy…God is working in and through your heart. Thanks so much for your humble sharing…your personal struggle and journey will touch many hearts!

    Like

  4. Berni, such powerful writing. Touched my heart..

    Like

  5. Wow, Bern! It’s been too long for me… I’m calling Fr. Vinny tomorrow … thanks, honey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

