somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Biscuits and Wisdom

12 Comments

Yesterday morning, my husband woke me up with a kiss, and a question.  “Would you like to go out for breakfast?”  He knows I always get to moving fast in the morning, when a “breakfast out”  is on the agenda.  I LOVE breakfast, and all the foods associated with it!  And also the laid back cozy feeling we share together, over the meal and coffee.

Unfortunately, I need to watch my fat intake, so I am usually pretty careful about my food choices.  One of the things I stay away from is biscuits.  I know those buttery, flakey, delectable morsels should be off of my food radar.

We split an omelette with spinach, portobello mushrooms, and a little swiss cheese.  I had half a whole grain pancake, and enjoyed everything.  I watched Joe slathering honey on his biscuit, and then eating it, telling me how good it was.  I couldn’t take it anymore…I broke off a tiny piece of the biscuit,  that’s all I was going to have, and topped it with a tiny bit of honey…and as soon as it was in my mouth, it felt like heaven!

So, after I finished the entire biscuit, I sat there feeling very full and very guilty.

Our waitress came over to check on us.  She was a beautiful young girl, (teenager) that had sparkling  brown eyes and a sweet spirit.  When she asked how everything was, I said “a little too good…I just ate a biscuit that I shouldn’t have eaten”.  Without skipping a beat, she offered “When I eat something I shouldn’t, I always tell my boyfriend that it is good for my soul.  My soul will live forever, and my body will live just a short time.”  She gave us a warm, genuine smile and left.

Such simple words of wisdom she graced us with.

On the way home, Joe commented how amazing it is when someone says just what you need to hear at the time you need to hear it.  Graces and miracles happen every day…and sometimes are easy to miss.

How often do we spend all our energy and time on things of the body- temporal things?  We tend to rationalize, citing all the reasons for not taking the time to become more intimate with Jesus, not taking the time for thanksgiving, worship and repentance.    We tell ourselves that family, education, jobs, vacations, sports, housework, entertainment, volunteering take up all our time.  God understands, right???

God loves us no matter what.  He loves us unconditionally…that is a given.  What is NOT a given, is a two way loving relationship with him.

I believe our relationships on this earth are meant to teach us and prepare us for our eternal relationship with God.  What relationship can flourish if we never spend special, quality time together?  In a loving relationship, don’t we look for ways to bring happiness to each other?  Would we want to offend and dishonor our beloved friends, family members or spouses by living our lives selfishly always looking away from them instead of keeping our eyes, hearts and fidelity fixed on them?

Thank you Lord for touching  us through that sweet waitress. “My soul will live forever, and my body will live just a short time.”

Thank you for reminding me to keep my focus on you, and on heavenly things.  When I honor you, and open my heart to you, you fill me with unbelievable love and peace.  Only then am I able to accomplish the work and share the love that you entrust to me alone.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.  John 3:16

Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.  Colossians 3:2

In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.   Proverbs 3:6

12 thoughts on “Biscuits and Wisdom

  1. Pingback: BURNED BISCUITS A LESSON ABOUT LOVE | Babe In Christ

  2. This is beautiful! Blessings to you!

    Like

  3. “My soul will live forever, and my body will live just a short time.” What great perspective!
    \o/

    Like

  4. How sweet that grace is that shines through others! What a sweet sweet lovely story.

    Like

  5. so awesome! Never heard that reply before but I think it tells more about the messenger than anything! Must have been thinking of that line for quite some time or maybe has a quicksilver mind, but either way, that is awesome. Great post! biscuits and wisdom, I will remember this one! God’s timing is so very good! Enjoy the day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

