somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Jesus! I KNOW Him!

9 Comments

This morning I took one of those silly tests that revealed to me which Christmas Movie character I was most like.  Surprise….it is “Elf!”

That kind of shocked me because I feel more like Linus from “Charlie Brown Christmas”, always wanting to remind the world what Christmas is all about.  Then I read the reason why I was most like “Elf.”  It is because I love all things “Christmas.”  I love the innocent faith that consumes Buddy’s spirit.

SANTA!!!  I know him…I KNOW him!

Buddy lives his life oblivious to the doubts and cynicism of others because He KNOWS him!!!  He sees the world through eyes filled with wonder and amazement, because He KNOWS him!!!

Shouldn’t we do the same?  Shouldn’t we see the world and all that is in it with wonder and amazement because, “We KNOW HIM!”

When we see the beautiful manger scenes, do we think of the perfect love and humility to God’s will that Mary possessed, the quiet confidence in God’s plan and the protection that Joseph provided for his family, the baby Jesus born into our sinful world , sent by Our Father in Heaven  as our Savior?  Or have our eyes been clouded to the simple beauty of the Nativity Scene?

When we decorate and enjoy our Christmas trees, do we appreciate the memories associated with each ornament?  Each year, as I place the ornaments on the tree,  so many memories are brought to mind.  From my growing up years, through our family’s years as our two sons grew, then as we created more memories with them and their wives, and then the years with my mom.  She also loved Christmas, and loved to choose new ornaments to add to our collection.  Many of those ornaments, which many might call “materialistic”, bring to mind a specific time, place, or person, that reminds me of God’s love for us and His providence in our lives.  I see Jesus when I think of all the faces of those loved ones…both with us in this world and those who have departed to the next.

When we hear beautiful and joyful Christmas music, do we remember days of childhood faith, when Christmas was almost magical?  It wasn’t just the gifts back then, it was the SPIRIT in the air, something special that we did not quite comprehend!  Or does the music help us to feel joyful in the moment?  The moment that we ARE IN, that God has blessed us with?

As we write out our Christmas cards, do we think and pray for each person, and thank God that they are in our lives?  Do we realize, as we open the cards sent to us, the thought that went into each one?  That there are friends and relatives in our lives that think about us enough to send a card to wish us a Merry and Blessed Christmas?

When we see beautiful  Christmas or Holiday decorations, do we appreciate the thought and creativity that went into each display?  The happiness that the bright lights and baubles bring to children’s hearts?  Do we remember that the light of a star beaconed the way to the Christ Child, and lights are a symbol of preparation for the coming of our Savior?

And all of the gifts…that admittedly some people take way overboard, are also a blessing.  A blessing not only to the receiver, but most importantly, to the giver.  When a gift of any size is thoughtfully chosen, wrapped and gifted to a loved one, or maybe even a stranger, the spirit of love and giving fills the heart.  When a gift is given in love, the Holy Spirit is present.

As we walk into Mass or Service on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, are our hearts filled with the joy, hope and love of Christ Jesus, Our Savior?  Do we receive Him with wonder and amazement?

Yes, I hope I am like Buddy in “Elf.”

JESUS…I know Him!  I KNOW Him!!!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Jesus! I KNOW Him!

  1. Well written…well done…wonderful.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Jesus; I Know Him reposted | On God's Payroll

  3. Thank you so very much.

    We had ta similar tradition & experiences but a storm blew out outbuilding;s door open and the plastic tub we had stored nearly 50 years of decoration memories [many hand made by our kids] were ruined and had to be disposed of.

    It was VERY hard on my Bride of 48 years. I was able to take a more pragmatic outlook; God IS in Charge!

    But it was a trying time.

    Thanks for sharing and have a Blessed and joy-filled Christmas!

    Patrick

    Like

    • Wow, I feel your pain on that loss; that would be difficult to let go of.

      I always try to remember and meditate on…”And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

      Have a Christmas filled with love and God’s blessings and grace:-)
      Bernadette

      Like

  4. I love your memories and the images you gave of Christmas . It’s such a precious time for remembering that God became one of us and died for our sins.
    I still miss my mother at Christmas and she’s been gone several years. May our Lord bless you with his comfort as you celebrate this special year.

    Like

  5. From the master of gentle reminders! Thanks for another inspirational post, Bernadette. Love you lots!

    Like

Leave a Reply

