somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

True Pleasure

Leave a comment

Do you like to read?  I love reading…especially inspirational or spiritual books.  Right now, I am in the process of reading “Saintly Solutions” by Fr. Joseph Esper.  This book is very enlightening, because it offers solutions to life’s common problems – from anger, boredom, and temptation to gluttony, gossip and greed.  The most interesting facet for me is that for each of life’s common problems, this book reveals a saint who experienced the same weakness or struggle. There are also suggestions for things you might try to overcome each issue.

Today, as I was reading, one line especially caught my eye.

“Those who love God will find pleasure in everything; those who do not love God will never find true pleasure in anything.”  St. Alphonsus Liguori

As I journey on my spiritual path, I have found this to be true.

In the past, I found myself comparing myself to others, or focusing on my struggles and what I didn’t have.  I rarely found pleasure in my day to day life.  During those years, I actually felt like I had a black veil over my spirit, and I could not break free… always feeling like “why me.”

Now that I am getting to know Jesus in a personal way, and have opened my heart to the Holy Spirit’s light, it is so easy to find pleasure all around me.  My spirit has been set free!  Simple things are beautiful to me, and touch my heart.  Little things like waking up one more morning with my husband next to me, enjoying a beautiful sunrise or sunset, watching birds or squirrels in my backyard, listening to beautiful music, visiting with family or friends, praying and feeling the presence of God…these are some of the joys that fill my life.

When things are difficult, I ask God to open my eyes to what I should be learning from the circumstance.

No, my life is not perfect, and I have a lot of growing to do.  However, I can honestly say I feel more love, pleasure and joy in my life than I ever did before.  It is a feeling of inner contentment, and trust that God loves me and will always be there for me.  He will carry me through.

My prayer is that the Lord fills our hearts to overflow with his love and moves us to share that love and joy with those he places in our lives every day.

Because that person he is entrusting to you is hurting and in need of Jesus’ saving grace. 

You were uniquely chosen for specific moments to touch specific people.  What could bring more pleasure than serving our Lord and sharing him with a world in need…one heart at a time?

 

For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function,  so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.  Romans 12:4-5

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.  John 3:16

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

